Tuesday, 16 October 2012

TOPBOX - October 2012

Yesterday evening when I came home from a lovely dinner out to celebrate my boyfriends birthday, I found a little present waiting for me in my mailbox! It was my October Topbox, which is always a welcome surprise :)


For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, Topbox is one of Canada's subscription beauty box programs. For only $10 a month (plus tax) you get a lovely box filled with premium cosmetic samples delivered right to your door. You can usually expect four samples per month, although sometimes you get more!

In my September Topbox I received:
Aveda Invati Shampoo and Conditioner samples (10 ml each) (full size shampoo retails for $27.00/200 ml)
MaskerAide Facial Sheet Masks (one mask) (retails for $4.99)
Stila "eye shadow palette" (this is not a real palette. It is a piece of paper with a little one-use trial of eye shadow on it) (value: I would say $0.00) (full size retails for $50.00/14g)
Stila Lip Glaze in 'raspberry' (1.5ml) (full size retails for $29.00/2.4ml)
Aveda Invati, Stila Lip Glaze in 'raspberry'

Stila "eye shadow palette" 

MaskerAide Mask in 'detox diva'
So there you have it, October's Topbox. I will note that Topbox recently accepted what I can only assume was a large amount of new subscribers. I say this based on the hundreds of posts on their Facebook wall by excited new subscribers who finally went off the wait list. I was worried this influx of new Topboxers would affect the quality of the boxes, and if this is my only box to judge, I would say the quality has gone down considerably. The Aveda Invati hair samples are so tiny, it won't likely be enough for one single shower for me, since I have long hair. One single wash is not enough to tell if you like a product, and at $27.00 a pop I doubt I would splurge on this product without trying it out with a decent sized sample.
The MaskerAide mask is lovely, and since I have already reviewed them, I can say this is a great product and I am very glad to see it in Topbox! I hope all the subscribers enjoy this lovely face mask, which is from a Canadian company! The Stila "eyeshadow palette" is the sorriest excuse for a "palette" I have ever come across. Topbox made a mistake in labeling this a palette in their description card, they should've called it an eye shadow sampler or something. To me, this is not a real sample. This is the type of thing you get for free in a magazine page. The big redeeming item in this box was definitely the Stila lip glaze, which is a very generous 1.5ml sample and will last quite a while. Overall, this was definitely not one of my favourite Topboxes. I always rave about how wonderful they are, but this month I was a bit disappointed. I won't cancel quite yet though, they have a great track record and I will hope that next month is better!

What do you think of the October Topbox?
--S


Topbox is currently on a waiting list, so if you are at all interested in getting a subscription you should go to their website and get on the wait list today! 

You can read about my May Topbox here. June Topbox here, July Topbox here, August Topbox here, September Topbox here

REVIEW: LUSH Halloween! Calacas Shower Jelly & Twilight Shower Gel!

Halloween is slowly creeping up on us! It is a mere half month away, and you can now purchase LUSH Halloween items in store as well as online.
I have now tried two of LUSH's new Halloween items for the first time and I must confess that they're both MORE than I was hoping for.



CALACAS SHOWER JELLY: This item is already sold out on the LUSH.ca website but you should be able to get your hands on some in-store. Always reasonably priced, Calacas is only $4.95/100g. Unlike the permanent line shower jellies (Sweetie Pie is my fave!), Calacas is molded to resemble a skeleton head! The scent is literally good enough to eat. I am not lying when I say I was so close to taking a bite of this thing, it smelled like pure candy!! Calacas is scented like lime jelly beans, om nom nom! I used some in my shower puff as I do with Sweetie Pie and I found that it did not lather quite as well as Sweetie Pie does, but the scent is so delicious that I couldn't even be bothered by that. You need this. Trust me!


TWILIGHT SHOWER GEL: this Halloween limited edition shower gel will be sticking around for Christmas as well, leaving you plenty of time to stock up. If you are a fan of the gorgeous Twilight bath bomb, you will love this shower gel! It smells of lavender and tonka, and the deep purple hue makes for a gorgeous shower experience. Just like snow fairy, twilight is laced with pretty little glitters that will settle at the bottom of your bottle. These glitters are unlikely to stick to you or cause any issues; they are there for visual effect. You can use this precious shower gel as a shampoo, and I highly recommend it to get the most out of the scent- it'll seriously linger in your hair for a day or two! 

Both of these products get a BIG A+ from me! Have you gotten your hands on any LUSH Halloween items? Tell me your thoughts!!

--S

note: these products were provided for my honest review. 

September Use-It-Up!

I am late to the party with this post, but I have my empties for September! I didn't use as many products as usual this month, so it is a tiny one:

Products I used up in September '12
Heavenly Bodies butter cream: The black LUSH pot contained Heavenly Bodies butter cream, a LUSH retro product that was released for a limited time only. It smelled of chocolate orange. It wasn't my favourite LUSH product. It doesn't lather (SLS free) and I like my lathering agents. The scent didn't linger either. I wouldn't be able to re-purchase even if I wanted to as it is no longer for sale, but I won't lose any sleep over that.

Cake Citrus Squeeze brown sugar body scrub: This scrub meant business! The granules were huge and abrasive, and the scent was delicious. I loved using this scrub on my feet to combat calluses! Cake is a favourite brand of mine and I would definitely repurchase another one of their body scrubs, although this particular scrub was too harsh for most body parts on me. I used it on my feet and back only.

Nexxus Shampoo: this little sample came from a past Topbox. The smell was nice! I enjoyed it, but I wouldn't go out and repurchase unless it was on sale.

Marcelle Lash Xtension mascara: my new FAVOURITE mascara! This stuff rocks! It beats out all my pricier branded benefit mascaras by a long shot. I will absolutely repurchase! Thanks Marcelle for this hidden gem :)

--S

Wednesday, 3 October 2012

Getting ready for Halloween, LUSH style!

October! October! For Canadians, October means Thanksgiving with family, raking up tons of fallen leaves, adjusting to chilly Fall weather and the absolutely delightful holiday that is HALLOWEEN :) LUSH ensures that you never have to grow too old for Halloween treats by releasing exclusive Halloween items every year. These items will be available for sale in stores this year on October 13th, but they're already available for purchase online :) :) 

Here is their lineup:

Ghost shower jelly ($14.95): scented of orchid infusion, jasmine and ylang ylang, this florally shower jelly is white as a ghost!

Twilight shower gel (price ranges depending on size): scented of lavender and tonka, I have yet to try the shower gel version of this iconic bath bomb, however I am absolutely in LOVE with this scent and cannot wait to try it out.

Something Wicked This Way Comes bath melt ($6.25): this melt will keep you silky smooth and smelling of ginger and jasmine.

Jacko bath bomb ($5.95): scented perfectly for fall, this happy little bath bomb smells of cloves, cardamom and spearmint.

The enchanter bath bomb ($6.25): this bomb will keep your mood bright with lime oil and neroli.

Magic bath bomb ($7.50): a cult classic, this bomb is a must-see. It will turn your bath water into a masterpiece while scenting the waters of basil and peppermint.

Pumpkin soap ($6.95): to compliment the Jacko bath bomb, pumpkin pie lovers will be head over heels for the pumpkin soap, which smells of cloves, cardamom and spearmint.

Calacas shower jelly ($4.95): Scented like the cult favourite Lady Catrina soap, calacas shower jelly is in the shape of a skull! It is scented with neroli and lime oils. 

Witches Ball bubble bar ($6.95): if you're a fan of herbal scents, you'll love Witches ball! It has peppermint, rosemary, sage oil, parsley, cranberry and star anise!

Now that you see the lineup, how excited are you for Halloween? I can't wait to get my hands on some of these amazing items !

--S

REVIEW: LUSH Silky Underwear dusting powder

LUSH Silky Underwear Dusting Powder
LUSH cosmetics has such a wide range of products, they literally have you covered from head to toe. Their dusting powders are one of the more unique items that they offer. This product is used to keep your body smooth and dry. You can use it on your under arms, your bed sheets, or even in your shoes! Dusting powders will leave you feeling silky smooth and smelling wonderful- LUSH has five different dusting powders to choose from, with ranging scents.

Silky Underwear ($6.95/2.1oz) is actually the first dusting powder ever created by LUSH! It contains grated cocoa butter, alongside absorbent powders to ensure your body doesn't feel greasy. The name comes from the fact that this powder will help your clothing go on easily and slip off even easier ;) This dusting powder is jasmine scented, and I personally don't love strong jasmine scents. However, this has a nice light jasmine scent- it isn't overly florally and I can actually appreciate it! I really enjoy how it leaves my skin feeling- I highly recommend putting some under your breasts to combat boob sweat if you're well-endowed like me! I would say this could be used in place of a powdered deodorant like LUSH's coconut deodorant powder in the winter months, because it really does keep you dry and smooth.

Overall, I think this is a lovely little product and it is very well-priced because a little goes a very long way.
Have you tried a dusting powder? Let me know your thoughts!

--S

note: this product was provided for my honest review. 

GLOSSYBOX - September 2012

I received one of those annoying Canada Post notices in my mail box last week stating that my Glossybox was at the post office awaiting my pick up. Gosh I love Topbox for its ability to fit into my mail box! I just got around to picking my Glossybox up this week because the post office is generally out of my way. I know we're into October now but as a general rule, Glossybox always ships out at the very end of every month so this review is not really that late ;)

For those of you who are new to beauty boxes, Glossybox is one of Canada's subscription beauty boxes. Alongside the likes of Glymm, Julep, and Topbox, Glossybox charges a monthly fee and sends out packages of deluxe beauty samples, such as lotions, makeup, nail care or skin care items right to your door step. Glossybox comes in a gorgeous, sturdy pale pink box that is completely re-usable for giving gifts or personal storage. Glossybox charges $15.00/month for their service- more than Glymm and Topbox. However, they promise to send "5 luxury product samples from high-end brands " in every box.

September 2012 Glossybox
In my September Glossybox I received:
Wella Mirror Polish Shine Serum (40 ml/full size) (retails for $16.99)
B. Kamins Lip Balm (4 ml) (full size retails for $21.00/15ml)
B. Kamins Maple Body Lotion (12ml) (full size retails for $41.00/180ml)
NYX Cosmetics 'The Crimson Amulet' palette (full size) (retails for $25.00)
Dove Cleartone deodorant (17g) (full size retails for $3.99/25g)

Wella Mirror Polish, B. Kamins samples

NYX palette- the back to show all the goodies inside the palette
I have to say, I was completely happy with everything in this months Glossybox! The shine serum is definitely something I will use, although it is a little tiring to receive a sample from Wella in every single box we get from Glossybox. The B. Kamins samples are awesome- I enjoy seeing a higher end brand in the box, as they originally advertised, and I think the sample sizes are decent. The Dove deodorant is kind of silly but who doesn't need an extra deodorant kicking around the house? I dislike the amount of Dove products Glossybox unloads on us personally, and I did receive this exact Dove deodorant sample in the mail for free a few months ago, but I don't mind getting another one. I think the big ticket item for almost everyone was the huge NYX palette but I personally have no use for this item.
Overall, this was an absolutely delightful box and it was well balanced. After hearing my mainly positive review, you may be shocked to find that I have cancelled my Glossybox subscription. I have been a subscriber since day 1 with this company, but cancelling was the right thing to do for me for a variety of reasons. Firstly, I hate that I have to go to the post office to get this package- for some reason the mailman doesn't ring the doorbell for my Glossybox packages, unlike other Canada Post packages I receive. I always have to go pick it up which is so annoying. Secondly, although I love the value of these boxes, I am getting too much of a collection of samples and full size products that I don't really have use for. I decided to cancel Glossybox over Topbox because it is: a) more expensive b) ships late c) has inconsistent samples and customer service and finally, d) because Topbox fits in my mailbox so I never have to go out of my way to get it!

That being said, I look forward to keeping up with Glossybox as a company by reading other bloggers reviews! It will definitely leave an empty hole in my lovely beauty blog to miss out on Glossybox reviews but it is really for the best, as I am mostly getting items I don't need or won't use.
--S


If you wish to sign up for October's GLOSSYBOX, click here. A monthly subscription is $15.00 after taxes and shipping.
To read about the FEBRUARY 2012 GLOSSYBOX, click hereMARCH 2012 GLOSSYBOX APRIL 2012 GLOSSYBOXMAY 20120 GLOSSYBOXJUNE 2012 GLOSSYBOXJULY GLOSSYBOX.


Saturday, 29 September 2012

REVIEW: boscia Luminizing Black Mask

boscia Luminizing Black Mask
The boscia Luminizing Black Mask ($41.00) is a bit of a cult classic, and I decided I needed to try it out and see if it was worth all the hype. I think it is very expensive for a facial mask, more than I would usually spend.
Boscia says this innovative peel-off mask helps boost skin clarity and minimize pores while absorbing excess oil and removing dirt and impurities. It has awesome ingredients like jojoba leaf, vitamin C and Willowherb.

First off, application of this mask is a bit tricky and definitely takes some practice. If you put this mask on too thick, it won't set properly. You need to keep the mask on for 20-30 minutes to ensure it fully dries, but if after 30 minutes of application it is still not fully dried, you're most likely applying it much too thickly. I found that it was best to layer it on so it was fully opaque on the face, but not overly thick. Avoid all hair!! Don't put this on your eyebrows, it'll be a pain in the butt to remove. This mask might not pull off in one full jelly-like piece. For me, it tore off in a few large pieces each time I used it, which worked just fine for me.
boscia Luminizing Black Mask

boscia Luminizing Black Mask
I found the results of this mask to be mediocre. I much prefer the proactiv refining mask for clarifying my skin. I think this mask is kind of fun because of its peel-off nature, but that also makes it a bit tricky to use. When I removed the mask, it certainly left my skin feeling soft, but so do all facial masks I use. There was nothing about this mask that made it worth the $41.00 to me. I will continue to use my current tube until it is all gone, but I wouldn't recommend this mask based on the price tag. I am sure others have found it to be much more enjoyable since it is such a well known product, but it was a miss for me. I will stick to maskeraide, LUSH fresh face masks and proactiv's refining mask :)

Have you tried the boscia Luminizing Black Mask? What do you think?
--S

LUSH Christmas is here! North America and UK!

Who else is a sucker for holiday collections? I wait all year long for LUSH Christmas! I am beyond pleased to tell you that LUSH Canada/USA launched part of their Christmas line recently. The UK is always a step ahead and their Christmas collection has been available for about a week now.

There are returning favourites like Snow Fairy shower gel, Snow Cake soap and Buche de Noel facial cleanser, as well as some new inventions such as Let The Good Times roll (a corn based cleanser!), Sandy Santa, a fun body scrub, and North Pole soap which smells like chocolate and peppermint (yummy!). There are also some old loves available this year, such as the much coveted Twilight shower gel.

North Pole soap
Buche de Noel facial cleanser

Twilight shower gel

Snowcake soap

LUSH NA will be announcing their Halloween collection soon, but you can check some of the Halloween items out on the UK site.

What holiday collections are you most looking forward to?
--S

Monday, 17 September 2012

REVIEW: Maskeraide Sheet Masks!




Face masks are always a favourite beauty luxury in my book. I love the fresh face masks at LUSH, and I recently purchased the luminizing black mask from boscia. I love using facial masks that have natural ingredients, because I figure if you're going to slather something onto your skin in hopes it'll be absorbed, natural ingredients are the best way to go. 

I recently tried out some sheet masks from the Canadian company Maskeraide. Sheet masks are a type of facial mask I was less familiar with. Rather than applying a thick paste to your face, sheet masks are a special type of mask made from thin fiber that is cut out to contour the face. The fiber mask is soaked in a highly concentrated serum infused with vitamins and nutrients. Sheet masks tote a variety of benefits, such as the fact that they provide superior deep hydration, act as an incubator and have a functional, easy to use design. 


The sheet masks from Maskeraide come drenched in a highly concentrated Argan Oil based serum that is also packed with vitamins and nutrients to solve a variety of skin concerns. The masks are free of parabens, harsh dyes and pigments, mineral oils, artificial fragrances, glycerins and benzophenone. These masks are vegan, and appropriate for all skin types! 
There are six different masks available- one to suit every skin need! The packaging is gorgeous on these masks- they're beautiful to look at and fun to use!
Maskeraide Masks: Pre Party Prep, Beauty Restore, Weather Warrior

Maskeraide Masks: I Don't Wanna Grow Up, Detox Diva, All Nighter
Each mask has specific ingredients included to combat certain skin concerns. I recently used the WEATHER WARRIOR ($4.99 each) mask because my skin was feeling unusually dry. I think this is because of a Benzoyl Peroxide spot treatment I have been using from Kellett that is apparently too harsh for my skin!
Weather Warrior mask has aloe vera, green tea, witch hazel and argan oil to soothe, calm and heal the skin.

Thursday, 13 September 2012

TOPBOX - September 2012


Today when I arrived home from classes, my Topbox was waiting for me in the mailbox! I just love the small size of Topbox- the fact that it fits in the mailbox makes it very convenient as you never have to run to the post office to collect it! 
For those of you who are unfamiliar with it, Topbox is one of Canada's subscription beauty box programs. For only $10 a month (plus tax) you get a lovely box filled with premium cosmetic samples delivered right to your door. You can usually expect four samples per month, although sometimes you get more! What I really love about Topbox is that they know who they are as a brand. They consistently provide high-end or luxury branded samples, and you can almost always expect a full-sized product in your box!

In my September Topbox I received:
Benefit They're Real! Mascara (3.0 g) (full size retails for $29.00/8.5g)
REDKEN Color Extend Shampoo and Conditioner (two sample packets of each at 10ml a piece) (full size shampoo retails for $15.00/300ml; full size conditioner retails for $17.00/250ml)
M.Asam Perfect Teint Primer (5ml) (full size retails for $42.00/50ml)
Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (20g) (full size retails for $34.00/120ml)

**I will note that Topbox changed their product cards this month! They now include information on where you can buy the full-size version of each sample, which is great!

September 2012 Topbox

M.Asam Primer and Benefit They're Real! mascara

REDKEN shampoo and conditioner samples, Vasanti Face Rejuvenator
This may be the first Topbox I've received in a while where I didn't get a full-sized sample item. Of course, that isn't expected but it is always welcome!
I was very excited for the trial size benefit mascara- I love benefit as a brand and their mascaras are awesome! I don't have any They're Real! in my stash at the moment so this was very welcome. I would say this was the stand-out sample for me in September's Topbox. The M.Asam primer sample looks very thick- much thicker than other primers I use. I love primers by CoverFX personally. I tried the M.Asam primer out quickly and it left my skin feeling very greasy. It is also scented, which is a big negative for me as it is a mature scent that I don't particularly enjoy. 
The REDKEN samples were nothing special- at least Topbox gave us two of each so we can try them out more than once to see if we enjoy the product. Sadly, I don't have colour treated hair so the benefits this shampoo and conditioner tote will be lost on me. Lastly, the Vasanti face rejuvenator sounds interesting. It is supposed to improve the texture of the skin with papaya enzymes, microcrystals and aloe vera. To use it, you rub it into your face like you would a cleanser, then wash away. 
This Topbox had a wide variety of cosmetics, skincare and hair care items, which is nice. Overall I am happy with Septembers box, although it cannot compare to some of the other Topboxes I've received in the past.
I noticed on the Facebook page that Topbox recently took on a lot of new subscribers for October- I am anxiously awaiting the October box to see if the quality of the samples changes at all due to this!!

Topbox is currently on a waiting list, so if you are at all interested in getting a subscription you should go to their website and get on the wait list today! If you want to get a beauty box subscription NOW and not wait for a Topbox, I strongly recommend Glossybox- I have some reviews of their boxes, check it out here.
--S

You can read about my May Topbox here. June Topbox here, July Topbox here, August Topbox here

Monday, 10 September 2012

Get Ready for Fall 2012!

Fall is in the air! I woke up this morning to go to school, and it was only 6 degrees outside! Brrr! It had me thinking that I might like to cozy back up under the blankets inside :)
I thought I'd highlight a few products that will help you embrace the season and get you ready for the wonderful season of autumn!

Pumpkin soap! Rocky Mountain Soap Company is a favourite of mine, and they have two lovely soaps out for fall: Spicy Pumpkin Pie soap (umm, yum?!) and Pumpkin soap! Lathering up in the shower with delicious pumpkin soap will definitely get you in the mood for autumn!

Rocky Mountain Soap Company's Pumpkin Soap! 
Fall polish! Essie got it right with their Fall 2012 collection- neutrals and dark hues are perfect for fall and they're a fun contrast from the bright and vibrant colours of spring and summer!
Essie's Fall 2012 Collection
Treat yourself to an indulgent soak in the tub! LUSH has a wide assortment of bath bombs, melts and bubble bars and I think Phoenix Rising is the perfect pick for fall! This bath bomb has a cinnamon stick in the center, and smells like spicy apples and cinnamon! Yummy :)
LUSH Phoenix Rising Bath Bomb!
With the weather getting dryer, you will have to switch up your routine to ensure your skin and lips stay moisturized! A favourite hand lotion of mine is by Cake Beauty- you pick the scent, they're all delicious! However, the basic formula that all their hand creams are made with is absolutely perfect- it is rich and moisturizing without being greasy or leaving residue!
Cake Beauty's fabulous hand lotions! 

Oh and speaking of moisturizing- make sure you have your favourite lip balms and scrubs ready for action! I love LUSH's lip scrubs and balms, but Rocky Mountain Soap Company and EOS also make pretty fabulous all-natural lip care products :)

What are your fall faves?
--S

Boscia Haul!

I recently did a little boscia haul and I thought I'd share with you three products that I am very excited to try out!
Firstly, their infamous Luminizing Black Mask ($41.00)! This mineral-rich peel-off mask is meant to detoxify, purify and brighten the skin. It is made with clay to deep-cleanse and draw out dirt and oil. It also has antioxidants to shrink pores, firm skin and reduce inflammation. I have heard that this mask is great for the skin and that it is also really fun to apply and remove- expect a review!
Secondly, I got their Revitalizing Black Hydration Gel ($46.00), which I thought sounded really cool! This gel takes the place of your daily moisturizer- it provides ultralight hydration while refining skin texture, brightening the skin and minimizing pores. It has charcoal in it to absorb oil. It also has awesome glycolic acid to clarify and smooth the skin. I think this product sounds really different and I am excited to try it out!
Lastly, in my never ending search for acne-fighting miracle workers, I got boscia's Willow Bark Breakout Treatment ($30.00). This is a botanically-based spot treatment for acne blemishes. Willow bark helps provide relief from breakouts as an anti-irritant to calm inflammation. It also has jojoba leaf and vitamins C and E to reduce redness, control oil and maintain a clear complexion!
In general, I think bosica is an awesome company. They are all about keeping it natural, and as such all their products have expiry dates, just like LUSH!

I also received 6 of their pore purifying black strips! I am excited to try these and compare them to Biore's pore strips. If you purchase anything from their website right now, you get 6 of these pore strips FREE, which is very cool!

Are you familiar with boscia? What do you think of the brand?
--S

Friday, 7 September 2012

GLOSSYBOX - August 2012

This post is coming up a little late because I've been a very busy bee lately! Going to school full time and working is a LOT of work! I received my August Glossybox on the last day of the month, just as I did in July. 
For those of you who are new to beauty boxes, Glossybox is one of Canada's subscription beauty boxes. Alongside Glymm, Julep, Luxe and Topbox, Glossybox charges a monthly fee and sends out packages of deluxe beauty samples, such as lotions, makeup, nail care or skin care items right to your door step. Glossybox comes in a gorgeous, sturdy pale pink box that is completely re-usable for giving gifts or personal storage. Glossybox charges $15.00/month for their service- more than Glymm and Topbox. However, they promise to send "5 luxury product samples from high-end brands " in every box.
August 2012 Glossybox
In my August Glossybox I received:
Sebastian Potion 9 Lite (50ml) (full size retails for $20.95/150ml)
Biore Makeup Removing Towelettes (10 sheets) (retails for $3.99)
Kryolan Lipstick (no price listed, made for Glossybox)
Nee Lipgloss (full size) (retails for $19.99/6ml)
Befine Fine Food Skincare (sample sizes of five different treatments)
+ bonus Ahava Deadsea Water Mineral Lotion (40 ml)
+ a bonus giftcard for Trend Trunk and one Elastoplast SOS blister band-aid
Elastoplast blister bandaid, Befine skincare sample box
Nee lipgloss, AHAVA lotion, Glossybox lipstick
Sebastian hair mist, Biore makeup removing towelettes
The August Glossybox was jam packed with stuff. I was very happy to receive the Biore facial wipes because I am a huge fan of facial wipes- I haven't tried Biore's yet so I look forward to comparing theirs to Simples, which are my favourite at the moment. The Sebastian Potion 9 Lite is supposed to condition, restore and enhance your hair. It smells nice. We've gotten a lot of Sebastian products from Glossybox and I've enjoyed each and every product from this brand thus far.
I received another AHAVA deadsea mineral lotion in this box, which we had already received in a past box. It was a thank-you from Glossybox for being a member for 6 months. This lotion is quite florally and not my favourite scent, but it is very thick and great quality. The Glossybox lipstick I received was made in Germany, and is named 'Glossy Pink'. It is interesting, but it isn't something that you could go out and buy another one of it you like it since it was made exclusively for Glossybox. The NEE lipgloss is very exciting and from a brand I am unfamiliar with. It is made in Italy. The actual packaging for the gloss looks like a mascara container which is different!
I would say the thing that excited me the most in this box was the samples I received from Befine Food skincare! I got five little sample packets- one each of their night cream, pore refining scrub, exfoliating cleanser, gentle cleanser and warming clay mask. I really liked the packaging and it seemed like this was a really natural company, but then I read the ingredients list on the back of the packages and they're all full of chemicals. Very deceptive marketing, since the front of the package says 'Natural, Paraben Free, Vegetarian, Allergen Free Fragrance'.
The little bonus giftcard for Trend Trunk is garbage to me, but the little blister bandaid will surely be enjoyed!
Overall, this was a nice box and I enjoyed it-- what did you think?

--S


If you wish to sign up for August's GLOSSYBOX, click here. A monthly subscription is $15.00 after taxes and shipping.
To read about the FEBRUARY 2012 GLOSSYBOX, click hereMARCH 2012 GLOSSYBOX APRIL 2012 GLOSSYBOXMAY 20120 GLOSSYBOXJUNE 2012 GLOSSYBOX, JULY GLOSSYBOX.

Thursday, 30 August 2012

August Use-It-Up!

As per usual, I have made it through the month with a fair amount of empties to show you all. Many of these were very well loved and enjoyed, while some were just 'meh'.
LUSH Dream Cream is a classic cream that is made for soothing sensitive skin. I like this cream, especially in the winter for angry noses. However, the smell of lavender isn't one of my favourites so this isn't a cream that I love for anything other than how well it works! I probably wouldn't re-purchase.

LUSH Ocean Salt is my HG facial exfoliator. I have raved about this product on my blog in many, many posts and I've already re-purchased another tub of this cannot-be-without product!

Prada Candy perfume is my every day scent. I wear it day and night, and I've already re-purchased another bottle of it. It is nice and light, but scrumptious at the same time.

A bottle of my favourite Orly polish got all gross and gunky so I tossed it. Someone mentioned you can buy thinner to fix bad polishes but I was too lazy. I bought a new, similar colour by Essie instead.

Cargo Lash Activator mascara was a nice mascara- it worked fairly well for me, but isn't worth the price tag. I would not re-purchase.
Philosophy's Hope in a Jar oil-free has been with me through most of the summer! I really like what it did for my skin, but I hated the smell. As such, it isn't my HG facial moisturizer and I wouldn't re-purchase because I am on the hunt for my perfect moisturizer and I won't stop 'til I find it!!

I used up a bottle of Bath and Body Works Coconut Verbena Lime spray, which I used as a room spray. It was nice, but I wouldn't re-purchase.

I finished off a trial sized version of bareminerals Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara. It was nice, and I loved the lush applicator. It didn't give a lot of length compared to other mascaras I've used. I may or may not re-purchase.

Lastly, I finished yet another pack of Simple facial wipes! I love these. I would definitely re-purchase when they're on sale.

There you have it, ladies, my August Empties! looking forward to seeing yours :)
--S

Monday, 27 August 2012

A Swap!

I am participating in a little swap with a fellow Canadian beauty blogger, Amy from theprettyvain ! I am sending out her package (packed with love) tomorrow!
Do any of you swap? I think it is a great way to try new beauty products! Amy and I decided to swap brand new and gently used items, as long as it is sanitary (i.e. something with a pump, or a perfume). Expect some photographs of my swap package from Amy soon!

I also have a lovely package from boscia on its way to me :)

Sorry I've been so MIA lately- I start school again next week, and I've been very busy! I went to Ikea today and got some new bed sheets and curtains. I cannot believe how quickly summer has come and gone- I will have my August Empties and August Faves up soon!

xo
-S

PS. If you haven't already: take one small step for man, but one giant leap for the blogging community and REMOVE CAPTCHA from your blog! Sherry wrote a great little how-to post here

Thursday, 23 August 2012

Products I've been loving by CoverFX, BareMinerals, LUSH

Today I thought I'd do a quick blitz post to share a few products I've discovered or re-discovered lately that I've really been loving for my day-to-day routine!
CoverFX BritePrepFX primer (note: sent for me to review) and ClearPrepFX anti-acne primer
1. Primers from CoverFX. I have two primers from CoverFX, their BritePrepFX which has SPF 50, making it perfect for the summer months, and their ClearPrepFX which is meant to leave your skin matte and combat acne. I love CoverFX primers because they go on very lightweight and once they're on, you don't even notice they're there! I first fell in love with the ClearPrepFX when I received a sample of it from Topbox! It really does leave my skin looking fabulously matte!
bareMinerals Matte SPF 15 Foundation in Fairly Medium

 2. bareMinerals Matte SPF 15 foundation in Fairly Medium is the only foundation I use. As you can guess by the product name, it also goes on matte, leaving my skin with a faultless finish. This mineral foundation is also incredibly light on the skin and will not feel heavy and cakey as the day wears on. I will note that if you have any dry or flaky patches, this foundation will definitely make them obvious, so you need to exfoliate well to use this foundation. Otherwise, it is great as it doesn't make me break out, looks natural on the skin, and is easy to apply! I love mineral foundations!
LUSH Seanik Shampoo Bar (note: sent for me to review)
3. LUSH's solid shampoo bars are amazingly convenient for travel, and they're a huge money saver. This one smells particularly delicious, as well. Seanik is a mineral-rich, sea salt volumizing shampoo bar-- and I am all about the volume when it comes to hair care! It has seaweed built right into it to make your hair extra soft, but also contains sea salt to give great body and volume. It smells really good- it reminds me of the scent of LUSH's Rub Rub Rub shower scrub! I would say this shampoo bar is very popular amongst LUSH hair care lovers, and I now know why! It leaves your hair smelling lovely, feeling light, silky and clean! I love solid shampoo bars due to their eco-friendly and wallet-friendly nature as well! You can also read my review of another LUSH solid shampoo bar, Gentle Lentil, by clicking here!
LUSH Dirty Springwash (note: sent for me to review)
4. I have always been a fan of LUSH shower gels- they lather amazingly, they smell fabulous and the scent actually lingers on the skin after use! Dirty Springwash is no exception. This minty shower gel has spearmint and menthol crystals in it, giving your skin a cooling sensation in the shower. This shower gel is part of LUSH's men's line, but I totally love this and agree with them in that it is truly a unisex scent. I personally adore mint, and I've used this shower gel as a shampoo with great success too!
LUSH Shine So Bright -- for split ends
5.  Lastly, the LUSH shine so bright hair serum for split ends has been perfuming my hair for a good little while now. LUSH says it is meant to repair split ends, but I haven't really noticed any changes on that front. However, it does calm my hair down, and it smells really lovely, once again like LUSH's Rub Rub Rub shower scrub! 
So there you have it, some products I've been loving lately! Have you discovered (or re-discovered) anything new?
--S
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...